Local News

Ormstown Saracens RFC close 2018 with Awards Banquet

On November 24th, 2018 members of the Ormstown Saracens Rugby Club men’s and women’s teams gathered at Erablière Maxime in St-Stanislas-de-Kostka to close the 2018 season and celebrate a number of victories at their annual awards banquet.

The club, which started in 1972 and consisted of only men’s rugby teams until the early 2000s when a women’s team was introduced, now boasts over 100 players, over half of which are kids in the mini and youth rugby programs for boys and girls.

The 2018 banquet recognized the Saracens men’s team success in their 47th year in winning the Rugby Quebec Provincial 3 division season (undefeated) as well as handily winning the division finals versus the Braves de Trois-Rivières.

Equally, it celebrated the rejuvenation of the women’s team after a hiatus of two years and their success on the field. To restore the women’s team, the Saracens joined with the Laval Nomades to form “Nomstown” which competed in the Rugby Quebec Provincial 2 division. Despite only practising together on three occasions at the start of the season, the women’s team came out on top in their division with a 9-1 record, only losing in the championship game to Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue II by 1 point in a nail-biting final.


The 2018 award winners at the Ormstown Saracens RFC annual banquet held on November 24th.


The award recipients were voted in by their peers and recognize individual excellence, sportsmanship, athleticism and dedication. This year’s winners were:

Hugh Maynard Award for Hardest Worker: Phylicia Brunette
Dennis Hargreaves Award for Member at Large: Johan Maartens
Most Sociable Player: Karolane Leduc
Rookie of the Year – Men’s Team: Tristan Bergevin
Rookie of the Year – Women’s Team: Gabrielle Catto
Most Improved Player – Men’s Team: Trevor Shelest
Most Improved Player – Women’s Team: Bailey Roy
Player of the Year Runner-up – Men’s Team: Shawn Blair
Player of the Year Runner-up – Women’s Team: Erika Scott & Christine Trusiak
Player of the Year – Men’s Team: Fraser McClintock
Player of the Year – Women’s Team: Sophie Van Horne
Rod Beattie Memorial Trophy: Fraser McClintock
Triple D Award: Caitlin MacDougall

In addition to awards for current players, the club takes this opportunity to honour a past Saracen for their contribution to the club. Robert Clément was inducted into the Ormstown Saracens Hall of Fame for 2018.

For anyone interested in learning more about rugby or the Saracens, follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/otownsaracens or email us: o.saracens.rfc@gmail.com. Weekly indoor fitness training has started at CVR High School on Wednesday nights from 7-8:30 in the gym for men and women 18 +. Training is free and open to all skill levels. Youth practices will start in the spring.

Caitlin MacDougall

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.